Failure and other accomplishments

I’ve failed at today. Strike that, I’ve failed at this week.

It’s hard when I don’t have any obligations towards anyone else, but I try to set goals for myself for every day and every week. For the most part, I’m successful at achieving my goals (maybe that means that I need to set higher goals than, “do laundry” or “get to bed before 2”) but this week I don’t think I’ve accomplished a single one.

I could use the excuse of being depressed, or in mourning, but the whole point of the goals is to get me doing stuff–honestly, if it wasn’t for the dogs, there are days when I wouldn’t even get out of bed.

The thing about life, though, is you have to keep moving onward and upward–I can’t go back and re-do this week, last year, or high school, even if I wanted to.

I don’t buy the “live your life without regrets” crap. For me, my regrets push me to do better in the future. Living your life without regrets to me is equal to living your life without care.

Anyway, I’m rambling. When I get to feeling this way, I try to remember this song.

I love Kings of Convenience, and Erlend Øye has a gorgeous voice, but I have a hard time looking at him.  He just might be the whitest man on the planet.

Tags: , , ,

