Letting your light shine

So, here’s the thing; I love to create.  I love to write, draw, cook, bake, craft…I just love to make stuff.  If this stuff then can make other people happy, even better.  I like to think of myself as a creative person, one who has a good eye, good timing, and some skill in expressing herself creatively.

So, not surprisingly, I chose to make my living in a field where I can put my creativity to good use.  I am, by training, a graphic artist.  There is one little thing that I overlooked when choosing this field: In order to succeed,  a graphic artist (or any artist, for that matter, I suppose) has to constantly be self promoting.

Here’s where I have a problem.  I’m good, I know I’m good, but I don’t know if I’m great.  I know that I have excellent skills in Adobe Illustrator, I also know that my Photoshop needs work.  I like to think that I have a good eye for color and layout, but I don’t know for sure.  And I have a hard time telling anybody that I do.

Every single design job I’ve had, I was hired as something else, or part-time, and then moved into a full-time design position.  Which is fine, and this is kind of what I’m looking at with a job prospect I’m facing now.  The thing is, I know that I have the skills and the experience to jump into a full-time design job with both feet.  I just don’t know how to make other people see that.

I think that’s why I’ll never work freelance.  I know that freelance designers have the most creative freedom, and tend to make the most money, but they also have to constantly be on the hunt for new clients, and constantly self promoting.

We’ll see what happens.  I’m working on building confidence so I can promote myself, my skills and talents better.  I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason.

Tags: , ,

