Beer tastes on a tapwater budget

My sister is in a position where her family is going to by a new(er) car in the next few months, one that will better fit her growing family then the Dodge Neon she and her husband bought when they were in college.  Sis and I have had fun wandering through virtual car-lots together, looking for vehicles that meet her requirements, regardless of price.

The last time we were together and both had our laptops, I decided that I couldn’t let her have all the fun, so I started looking at cars for me.  I drive a 14-year-old Geo, and would like a new car, but, my car runs fine and still gets 30+ miles to the gallon, so I have no real need to replace it.  That is, even if I had the funds to spend on a new car, which I most definitely do not.

So, off to carmax.com to see what I can find.  What kind of car would I like?  A sporty 2-door coupe would be nice.  So would a convertible. I like driving a manual transmission.  Leather seats? Why not?  And so on and so forth.

I came up with a list of absolutely gorgeous cars, ones that would turn my head if I saw them driving down the freeway, with names like Porsche and Lexus and BMW.  The thing is, though, I started picturing the kind of person, especially a woman in her late 20’s, who would drive cars like that, and it definitely wasn’t me.  Not only am I not that kind of woman, I have no desire to be that kind of woman.

So, off to look at cars that were more my style.  You know, the ones made by Volkswagen and Toyota.  Again, nice cars, but…eh, kinda boring.

Then, I thought, I want something that I can take out exploring.  You know, a Jeep!

Finally, I found the cars that I could get excited about.  A car that I could fall in love with.  Specifically, this car:

So, if either of my readers have an extra $15,000 lying around, and want to do something extra nice with it…

For those of you keeping track at home, if I had all the money in the world to buy a car, I’d turn down the $67,000 Porsche 911 in favor of a $15,000 Jeep Wrangler.  Although, granted, if I had all the money in the world to buy a car, I’d probably be looking at them new, rather than used.

Tags: , ,

