So, apparently, there is some sort of large sporting event happening today.

So, I was examining the list of things I care about, you know the one that starts out:

  1. The Church
  2. Family
  3. Friends
  4. Max & Lulu
  5. Ice Cream
  6. Chocolate

And there are three words that don’t appear anywhere on that list–sports, football or Superbowl.

It’s not that I don’t understand football–I know the rules and how points are scored, I just don’t enjoy watching it on TV.  I don’t enjoy watching any sport on TV.  I had this revelation while watching a basketball game–I’m watching ten men run a ball up and down the court.  Nothing ever really changes, and, while there are moments of excitement, they are few and far enough in-between that it doesn’t make it worth watching for me.

I’m not even really interested in the Superbowl commercials.  I’m sure that I’ll see the good ones later on.  Even if I don’t like sports, it seems a shame that what is arguably the biggest sporting event in the US is overshadowed by the advertisers who make it possible.  I wonder how long until the football itself is canceled, and we just have a yearly event where we watch the biggest, best, most expensive commercials that Bud Lite and Coca-Cola can put out.

With all that being said, I am super excited about the Olympics.  But the events that I like to watch don’t tend to be the popular ones.  I’d much rather watch, say, curling than the women’s figure skating competition. I like the sports that are more about skill than hype.

For those of you keeping track at home, I have no plans to watch the Superbowl.  Animal Planet’s Puppybowl?  Maybe.  It depends on how annoyed I am with Max and Lulu.

Although I hear that they have disapproving bunny cheerleaders this year…

Tags: , ,

