Golden Corral Won’t Know What Hit Them.

It seems like every family has a month that has the most birthdays in it.  Well, in my family, that month happens to be February, with my dad, my grandpa, two uncles, three cousins, and two first cousins once removed all with birthdays–not to mention the Bro-in-law whose birthday is in the first week of March.

Every year, we have a big party to celebrate the February birthdays.  I use the term “party” loosely, because my family is the biggest bunch of grumps that I know.  Frankly, it’s not a family party until someone gets their feelings hurt.  Unfortunately, it’s usually my angel grandmother.

This year, the party will be in Utah county.  It also happens to fall in the same time frame that a good friend of mine, who happens to be male, will be in town visiting.  I’ve been talking about this guy a lot, and my family knows how excited I am to see him.  Apparently, I’ve been talking about him too much.

I was talking to my Dad on the phone last night, and in the background I could hear my mom:

Mom (in the background): “Is that Cori?”

Dad: “Yep”

Mom (yelling): “Grandma says to bring [The Giant] to the party!”

Fortunately for The Giant, he won’t be in town the day of the party.  I have to say I’m relieved.  Not only do I like this guy too much to subject him to the family, I’m not sure I could live with the teasing of bringing what would be considered a date…

Tags: , , ,

