Computers and Cars

You just can’t get rid of me, can you?

A word of advice to all my single readers out there.  Or maybe my readers with single siblings would be more apt.   Marry (or encourage your siblings to marry) someone who works in the IT/computer engineering field.  As soon as my sister got home yesterday, she suggested to my bro-in-law that he build me a new computer.  She’s called a couple of times this morning to give me updates on it.  I asked if the B-I-L was having fun, or if she was having to crack the whip.  She assured me that he was having fun–he wouldn’t be spending his day off working on a computer for me if he didn’t enjoy it.  AND, it’s making my sister happy because it’s getting rid of  some of the random computer parts that are cluttering up her storage room (that’s why I’m encouraging siblings to marry computer geeks–you get all of the benefit, and none of the clutter!)

So, yes, my family is amazing.  I honestly don’t know what I did to get so lucky.

Maybe it was timing.

So, my parents bought a new car yesterday.  It is gorgeous!

In an effort to keep their yard from being cluttered with cars in various stages of workability, Mom suggested that Sis and the B-I-L buy the car that they were replacing.  It might have come back to bite her, though, because as part of the sale, Sis and B-I-L traded the car they were driving back to my dad. This had the added benefit of confusing the heck out of G.  Sis kept talking about her new car, and G kept insisting “That’s Papa’s car!”  I can’t wait to see what happens next time he comes down and finds the car his parents have been driving his whole life in Mom and Dad’s driveway.

So, to recap, Mom gets a brand new car, Dad gets a new to him car, and Sis and her family get a new to them car.  I get a broken computer.

I’m really not all that jealous.  Any car I could afford right now would be in worse shape then the one that I’m driving.

Um, obviously, I’m somewhere with access to a computer.  I’m still at my parents house.  Last night was as bad as I thought it was going to be, (I spent all day depressed about my broken computer, AND spending time with the kids) and I didn’t want to be alone.

That’s a good thing, right?  Normally, or historically, perhaps, when I’ve gotten really depressed, I retreat into a shell, and don’t want anything to do with anything.  It has to  be a good sign that when I knew I was going to be depressed, I sought out the company of others.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

