we have GERMINATION!

I decided to take a good long look at my patio garden this year, and really think about what plants would do best with the little bit of sunlight that I have each day.  Also, new this year, is the yard-and-a-half, a box that I asked my sister and brother-in-law for for Christmas, where the dogs can go and potty when I’m not home during the day.  The picket fence was a bonus.

After some research, I decided that dutch white clover would be a better choice than grass–it’s more resistant to dogs, and wouldn’t require “mowing”.  However, I did want something the dogs could munch on if their stomachs were upset, so I planted some wheat grass in an old bulb pot I had. (I noticed that if I went to a pet store and bought “pet grass” it would cost $4.50.  If I went to the grocery store and bought wheat grass for human consumption it would cost $1.50)

I ordered some clover seed online, (paying twice as much for shipping as for the actual seeds.  I’m a little bitter about that.) and sowed my yard and a half.

I fully acknowledge that while I love gardening, I struggle with growing plants from seeds (except weeds, for some reason).  So, I’ve sown the seeds, then, the first thing I would do each morning would be to check the yard-and-a-half to see if they had germinated.  After a few weeks without seeing any green, I resowed.  This happened twice.  I was beginning to despair a bit–and wonder how a girl who technically lived on a farm until she was eight (we didn’t have any crops, just a feed lot in the back yard) and came from a long line of farmers on both sides could fail to grow anything from seeds, until, upon checking the yard-and-a-half this morning, I saw this:

the orangish balls are seeds that haven’t germinated yet, so you can see how tiny these plants are.

I had a horrible night last night–the migraine made sleeping hard, as did the changed acoustics of having my bed on the other side of the room. (Seriously, the trains and traffic are much louder than they were three days ago.)  Seeing these seedlings this morning cheered me up incredibly.

Now comes the part that I really struggle with–keeping these little baby plants alive until they reach maturity.

Tags: , , , ,

