Conflict and Resolution

I’ve been struggling the past few days.  I haven’t been sleeping well, so during the day I’m tired, slightly dizzy and headachy, and above all, apathetic.

I’ve been trying to write, in fact, today that’s about all I did, but everything I turned out was rubbish.  I just can’t get the amazing characters in my head onto paper–although I’ve discovered that I do better if I write in a notebook first, then leave it alone for a few days, then input it into the computer.  This has the added benefit of when I get frustrated, I can tear out the paper, wad it up, and throw it across the room (Max only brings it back half the time).  That’s much more satisfying than just hitting the ‘delete’ key.

I think maybe my problem is that I spend too much time developing characters, and not enough time on plot.  I get a basic scenario figured out, but not a climax or an ending, so I have a hard time figuring out where to go.  I don’t really go for big, complicated outlines, but at the same time, I’m far from a discovery writer.

So, my goal for the next little while is to work on plots.  When I think about it, it’s not really surprising that conflict climax are what I struggle with–I don’t like drama in real life, and even when I’m watching TV, and things get too…I’m going to use the word embarrassing, for the characters, I’ll change the channel.

I know I have a few other writers who read this blog (I’m not sure how comfortable I feel about calling myself a writer, but that’s the ultimate goal) so I’m asking for some advice–how do you get over your own personal dislikes and hang-ups to make your story better? And please don’t say embrace them to give your characters personality.  Drama is what moves the plot along, and drama is what I tend to avoid.  Basically, if I were to have written the  Wheel of Time saga in the state I am now, it would be less Dumai’s Wells, and more washing silk.

And nobody wants that.

Tags: , ,

