Finding Nature

I had every intention of getting up early this morning and going to the temple–Lulu had different ideas.  She woke me up at a quarter to four letting me know that she needed to go outside.  If it was even an hour later…

Anyway, I managed to get back to sleep, but woke up at 9:30, and the temple closes at 10am on Mondays.  I wasn’t going to make it.  BUT–the sun was shining and it was such a pretty day that I decided to load the dogs into the car and went out in search of some nature.

I ended up at Nunn’s Park, in Provo Canyon–I wanted to go to Bridal Veil Falls, but the trail was closed.

I suppose my search for nature was either too early in the year, or too late in the day, but I had a nice walk, Max and Lulu got worn out, and I got a few interesting pictures.  I’m going to have to try this again some time.

I found a visitor on my balcony this morning

Something tells me that I really don't have enough sun for pansies.

Rapids in the Provo River

Nobby tree.

new plants in the pebbles. I should know what these are...

Nunn's Park was the site of one of the first hydroelectric plants in the country. This is the remains of that plant

I went in search of nature to photograph, and ended up taking pictures of man-made structures...

I watched this bird bobbing and grooming. Again, I should know what it is...

this was a "pocket shot", but I like how it turned out

Golden leaves from last year. I loved the contrast of the gold and the gray.

I don't know what side of the trail to walk on!

No trespassing dogs. Got it.

Nature is prickly.

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Finding Nature”

  1. Sis says :

    the plants among the rocks are burrs. I have pulled so many of those out of my yard, I’d recognize them anywhere!

  2. The Parent! says :

    The bird is probably a water ouzel, or more commonly just called a “dipper” . I going on your description of its action as much as the photo.
    I see them occasionally when I hike Fat Man’s and other water hikes.

