Growing up is so overrated.

I figured something out:  If you want to cheer up, you should do something that you enjoyed doing as a kid.  Like building a fort.

One of the things that sold me on my condo was these awesome shelves that a previous owner had installed in the bedroom–great storage for books without cluttering up the floor with an actual bookcase.  For most of the time that I’ve lived here, I’ve had my bed next to a wall with a short little shelf.

When I thought I was getting a desktop computer, I moved my bed to the wall under the long shelves, and ever since then, I’ve wanted to drape sheets off the shelves to make a fort.

Here’s how my bed normally looks: Notice the beautiful quilt and pillowcase my mom made, and gave me for Christmas.  And the totally awesome shelves.  And my book collection.  Doesn’t this call for a fort?

I went to a thrift store today, and purchased some sheets that were bigger than the twin size I have around my house (That’s not the only reason I went to the thrift store, but since I was there…)

After washing them in hot water,  I carefully suspended the sheets, using my books and book ends as weights.  This is what I got from the outside:

Eh?  Eh?

Okay, so it doesn’t look so great, BUT forts don’t have to look great, right?

The inside is much better, AND has the added benefit of confusing the heck out of shih tzus:

The part you can’t see:  When Lulu can’t figure out how to get down, she starts playing with my toes.

My fort even has a TV:

it’s those little things that make it special.

Okay, I admit, I’m about 18 years past the point when people usually stop building forts out of blankets and sheets, but dangit, I haven’t stopped giggling since I started this little project.

I’m going to have to do some experimenting, to make sure that books and bookends won’t come down if the sheets get tugged on too hard.  If that works, I’m totally going to leave it up overnight.

Because a confused shih tzu makes for an entertained Cori.  And that’s all that matters, right?

* NOTE: I love my dogs.  I actually do try to make their lives easier.  I don’t confuse them on purpose very often.   A confused shih tzu is entertaining, but a content shih tzu is a great cuddler, and I prefer the cuddles.

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Growing up is so overrated.”

  1. Sis says :

    So awesome! I love that you build a fort instead of wanting a fairy canopy bed. So Cori!

