I really should know better…

If the way my hit counter exploded yesterday, there are a lot of people out there as adverse to the idea of growing up as I am.  The problem is, there is a time and a place for everything.  And yes, it’s fun to do childish things every now and then, I know I also have to be a responsible adult.  Dangit.

My family has a big Easter party, and today, as part of being a responsible adult, I went to my parents house to help get ready for it.  The plan was to shampoo their furniture, but after vacuuming, we decided to wait until after the party to shampoo.

I was helping my mom organize her freezer, and I commented on a bag of frozen fruit, saying it looked like it would make a good smoothie.  So we tried it.  Well, in this particular bag of fruit, there is more pineapple than anything else, and, as you may or may not remember, I’m allergic to pineapple.

I carefully picked out the stuff that wasn’t pineapple, and we made a really good smoothie–at least I thought it was a really good smoothie until I finished my glass and then started to feel my throat close up.  Crap, I guess I hadn’t been as careful about the pineapple as I thought.

Now, I’m not THAT allergic to pineapple, and I could take a Benadryl to help clear things up–except I forgot the reason I take Benadryl at night when I can’t sleep.  Yeah…

So I’m sitting here groggy, with a sore throat from coughing so much–but I can breath, which is always a good thing.

And I learned my lesson, frozen strawberries, peaches and mango that have been packaged with pineapple, while delicious, are definitely to be avoided in the future.  I don’t know if I’m getting more sensitive to pineapple, or if the other fruit was soaked in pineapple juice before it was frozen, or if there was something else going on.

Either way, it sucks.

It was a really good smoothie though.

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “I really should know better…”

  1. Sis says :

    You know how i think breathing is highly overrated. Eat what you enjoy, just keep the benedryl (and inhaler) close at hand!

