So I’ve survived another Easter Party

At least, I think I survived it.  It was only at my folk’s house for a little bit, then we moved it down to the park.  I left about the time the Easter egg hunt started.  The party hasn’t moved back here, and I don’t know if it will.

But, I’ve survived.  More importantly, Max survived without snapping at anybody (he really doesn’t like little hands, and some of those little hands haven’t been around dogs enough to realize that growling means “back off”.)  And Megan, my aunt’s–gah, I don’t know how old she is, probably 16 or more, chow mixed survived–though she had a look of confusion on her face as to what this little black and white thing was, and why it kept barking at her.

I’m grateful for a good family that will let me go off and hide when things get too overwhelming.  I’m a little upset with myself that I need too–I found myself wondering if I can’t handle my own extended family, how in the world can I handle in-laws.  This could very well be an issue–I want a Mormon guy, and the stereotypes about Mormon’s having bigger families than the Catholics are true.  (Again, part of the problem.  I love my family, but–small doses. Please.)

No, I’m glad I got to see everyone, and I’m glad I was able to help out.  I had more interaction this year than I did last year, so I guess I could consider it a personal success.

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “So I’ve survived another Easter Party”

  1. Melenie says :

    Well, you have to admit that it was pretty tame this year compared to last. I think I can speak for all of us when I say that it was nice to not have so many people there… I guess I’m a tad anti-social myself. 🙂 Plus, last year it was raining, so we couldn’t really send the kids outside. All in all, it was a successful day.. maybe I’m just glad that Adam played outside with Derek and Amelia while I got to play cards inside..

  2. Sis says :

    Cards was great, I’m sorry Mele and her mom didn’t have more fun. This year was a success. I’m glad we did it!

  3. Melenie says :

    I never have fun playing cards. I’m turning into an ornery old man.

