A Taste of Childhood

I had every intention of going to church this morning.

But you know what they say about good intentions.

When I woke up, my hip had locked up on me, and I couldn’t move it.  I managed to hobble to the bathroom, and that loosened things up enough that I was able to hobble downstairs (and back up again) to take the dogs for a walk. I can move now, but I’m in a lot of pain–the kind that causes nausea, so I don’t want to take any painkillers that might further upset my stomach, and frankly, acetaminophen, aka Tylenol, doesn’t work for me so I don’t have any in the house.

Anyway, as I foresee a day mostly lying around the house, with lots of stretching, I really don’t have much to talk about.  So, in an effort to write a post with substance (not necessarily nutrition, but substance nonetheless) when I was in the kitchen making breakfast, I grabbed a cookbook with the idea of posting a recipe.  The cookbook in question was put out by CBC Radio, and is called Great Canadian Cookies, Bars and Squares.  The recipe that I intended to post is a variation on a lemon bar found in that book.  But, I found something even better.

I found a slip of yellow paper that had been tucked into the back of the book without my knowledge.  On it, my dad had written his favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. The fact that it’s in his handwriting, not mine or my mom’s just makes me smile.  So that’s what I’m going to share with you today.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies:

1 cup soft butter

1 cup brown sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup boiling water

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/4 cups flour

1/2 tsp salt

2 cups quick oats

12 oz semi-sweet chocolate chips

Cream butter and sugar together, add the eggs and blend them in.  Dissolve baking soda in boiling water, and stir into the butter/sugar mixture.  Add vanilla, then dry ingredients and chips.  Drop small balls onto an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-12  minutes at 350°


Having typed that out, it seemed strange to me that there wasn’t any white sugar.  I seem to recall using white sugar to make these cookies, but we always made a double batch, so it’s possible that we would use one cup of brown sugar and one cup of white sugar for the double batch.  I looked at Recipezaar,  and the proportion of sugar and flour seem to be the same as other oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipes I could find…but I’d still appreciate if someone with access to the original recipe could check that for me.

Anyway, enjoy this little taste of my childhood.  If you need me, I’ll be in the corner whimpering in pain.

Tags: , , ,

