Where do I go from here?

I literally stayed up all night last night writing.  Not a very auspicious reason for a single woman to stay up all night on a Friday night, but still…

I’m happy with what I wrote last night, but it’s in the sit-and-wait period now.  By the time the sun rose, I’d been awake for 20 hours without the aid of caffeine, so it could be rubbish.  I won’t know for a couple of days.

So my internal clock is now all messed up, and so, apparently, is my thinking, so please forgive me if I wander a bit more than usual in this post.

Mom has me thinking about going back to school, which presents me with a couple of problems.  First, the place where I got my associate’s degree is nationally accredited.  That sounds great, right?  The problem is, most reputable universities are regionally accredited, and won’t accept the credits from the school I went to.  This leaves me the option of looking at other nationally accredited schools, like University of Phoenix, and they tend to be expensive and not all that great of schools.

I know the school I graduated from left me with a bad taste in my mouth.

The good thing about nationally accredited schools is that they tend to have very focused fields of study, and you can get a degree quickly.  I’ve been investigating some local schools, trying to decide where I want to go and what I want to do.

Which is frankly terrifying.

Mom is pushing me to become a paralegal.  While there are paralegal jobs available…I’m not sure.  In high school, I was interested in law and politics and the like, but that has faded to disinterest and now disgust.  Maybe if I got into it though, I’d change my mind.

I’ve been thinking about information technology.  After I graduated, I said that if I were to do it again, I’d go into IT–I like working with computers, and being a woman would give me an advantage while job searching.  But I took some networking classes in high school, and those were the only classes I genuinely struggled with.  Granted, I know that technology has changed enormously since I took those classes 12 years ago, and I probably wouldn’t be working on a computer running Windows 3.1, but still…

I’ve done a minimum of research into some of the nationally accredited schools in the area, and the field of study of pharmacy technician caught my eye.  Chemistry scares me, but I like science enough that I could solider through those classes.  I also would need to research the demand for pharmacy technicians.

Maybe it’s a pipe dream to think that I can find a field in which I can both make money and enjoy working in.   This is something that I shouldn’t make a rash decision in–it’ll take a lot of time and money, neither of which I have to waste.

So I guess the remainder of this weekend will be devoted to prayer fasting and meditation.

I don’t want to make another wrong decision.

Tags: , , , , ,

