Best cookie/bar/treat things ever!

So, with E’s adoption being finalized yesterday, and his sealing on Saturday, my sister is in a state of panic.  There’s going to be a big party on Saturday to celebrate the sealing, and a lot more out-of-town relatives have RSVP’d than she was expecting–which means, food and preparation for more people.

In an effort to mitigate said panic, she asked me to come up today and help her get ready, so I’m spending the next few days at her house.  Even if my job is simply to keep G out of her hair, well, that’s a huge help I’m sure.

I’ve spent the last two and a half hours trying (with various degrees of success) to disassemble a beef loin.

With a less than sharp knife.

And only a vague idea of what I was doing.

Sis and I ended up with two bones the size of my little dogs, a big pile of skin and connective tissue, and one crock-pot roaster full of meat–when we were expecting to get two.  Not to mention aching feet, legs, back, shoulders and a face that wouldn’t stop itching just because my hands was covered in bits of raw beef.

The dogs will LOVE me tonight.

So, I’m too tired to come up with a topic, and haven’t had anything other than keeping Sis from killing G party preparations, I don’t have anything to write about. And it only took me 209 words to say so.

Maybe I’ve been reading too many cooking blogs, but I’ve decided that when I don’t have anything to write about, I can at least post a recipe.  These are for a treat that I made today for the party, and will probably make another batch before all is said and done.  The original recipe came from the Great Canadian Cookies, Bars and Squares book I’ve talked about before, but I’ve tweaked it from there.  (by the way, the recipe called “Charlotte’s Chocolate Squares” that you can see in the preview is my all time favorite rice crispy treat recipe.  So, this is a twofer.

So in the GCCBS book, the following recipe is called “Marie’s Treats” as I don’t know Marie (or any Marie for that matter.  A couple of AnneMarie’s, but no just Marie’s) I’m not sure I can call it that.  In fact, I don’t know what to call it.  Besides delicious.

Random Canadian Treat Recipe:

1 c butter (margarine will work, but it leaves a weird white film over the cookies.  The taste is the same, but they don’t look as good)

1 c brown sugar

graham crackers

chocolate chips

Pre-heat the oven to 350°.

Line a 9″ x12″ cookie sheet (1/4 sheet pan) with aluminum foil, shiny side down.  Lay graham crackers in a single layer over the aluminum foil.

In a heavy sauce pan, melt butter and sugar, stirring constantly.  When mixture comes to a rolling boil, pour and spread evenly over the graham crackers.

Bake for 6-8 minutes until done.  I hate when recipes say that, and I don’t know how to describe done-ness, but you should be able to tell.  It’s well after the graham crackers stop popping up and down. (if you can, this is a fun recipe to watch bake)

Remove from the oven, and sprinkle with chocolate chips.  Let set for a minute to allow the chocolate to melt. Spread evenly.

Once the chocolate is spread, transfer to the freezer, and allow to freeze throughly.

Once the cookies are frozen, you can cut or break them apart–but be careful, the aluminum foil tends to stick to the back.

These taste better straight from the freezer, but are yummy any way you want to eat them!

Tags: ,

One response to “Best cookie/bar/treat things ever!”

  1. corianne says :

    so…posting after midnight when I’m super tired is never a good idea…

    this has had lots of edits after being online for 8 hours…

