*Various whimpering noises*

So the allergies/head cold is totally kicking my butt, to the point where WebMD is telling me that I have an ear infection.  Or thyroid cancer.  But probably just an ear infection.

I’m considering it karma because I’ve known that Lulu’s had an inflamed ear for a while, but haven’t done anything about it*.  Do you think the wipes I’m using for her ear would work for my ear?

I’m hovering at that annoying point of feeling good enough to y’know, actually do stuff, rather than spending the day in bed.

I got up this morning, got ready, took the dogs out and saw I had a half hour before I had to leave for church, so I sat down on the couch with a book, and promptly fell back asleep.  And didn’t wake up until church was over.  Whoops.

I feel horrible about this too.   I have a friend, who I first met about three years ago, soon after I moved into my house/ward.  He was on crutches at the time–he was  a marine, and had been injured in Iraq.

The story loses some of it’s drama when, after talking to him for a bit I found out that he was an explosives expert, and had been hurt in a training exercise.

But still.

A year of crutches/physical therapy later, and Phil went on a tour of duty to Afghanistan.  Which, happily, he returned from, and decided that his time in the marines was up.

So, what does a good Mormon ex-marine boy do next?  He goes on a mission.  His farewell was today.  In my ward.

And I missed it.

Phil, if you are reading this, I am so sorry.  I wanted to be there, I really did.

You are going to be an awesome missionary.

*I am not an awful dog mom note: The inflammation in Lulu’s ear is more like a hot spot that happens to be located on the flap of her ear.  She’s not showing signs of vertigo or nausea.  She just scratches her ear.  A lot.  I’m treating it with some OTC wipes, and they seem to be helping–except now she runs away when she sees me coming, because she doesn’t want me messing with her ear.  Sigh.

Tags: , , , ,

