“Why is the world all sideways? Oh, probably because I can’t straighten my head…”

There’s part of me that wants to put “The Storyteller Chronicles” on hold until further notice–until my life becomes more interesting, or less interesting, or I have more to write about, or whatever.

Another part of me chimes in and says “No, dammit.  Corianne, you’re not going to give up just because things are getting hard.  You WILL find something to write about, it WILL be interesting, and you WILL enjoy it.”

At which point the rest of me blows her nose, whimpers because that hurt her ears, and goes back to bed.

From the shoulders up, I’m feeling much better, actually.  My ears have gone from constantly hurting to a dull ache like when you travel up in the mountains, and they need to pop, but won’t.  I felt good enough to join my sister in meeting Mom in a park a half hour away from my house–kind of a mid point between where Sis lives and Mom lives, for a picnic, and to pick up some stuff that Sis needs to take her family camping.  With my ears feeling better, though, my stomach has started to hurt.  I’m hoping that it’s either a) the constant stress in my life that’s been put on the back burner since I got an ear-ache re-manifesting itself, or b) the gunk from my ears draining down the back of my throat into my stomach, the way it should.

I guess I spend too much time reading Free Range Kids, but I marveled at the fact that it didn’t take G long to be surrounded by a group of five boys (and one girl) all close to his age playing together. Granted, they all wanted to hit the mini punching bag Mom had brought, but still…

I’m glad there’s a place, and people in the world who will let kids be kids.

It was good to gather with the family, even if the weather was less than cooperative.  We ended up moving our picnic inside of Mom’s car–you know, when the wind started blowing down branches big enough to knock a man out.

I’m getting more and more excited about going back to school.  I want to start classes, its just…I hate getting bogged down in the administrative stuff.  And  I tend to let the little stuff you have to do before you do the big stuff keep me from doing the big stuff.  Crazy I know.

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to ““Why is the world all sideways? Oh, probably because I can’t straighten my head…””

  1. The Parent says :

    The picnic was great fun! the grandson and grammy played ball and (pretend) called 911 for lots of car wreaks and some littering all in the back seat while the one tooth child gummed on a cob of corn. Who knew that a little ear of corn had sooo much juice?

