Friendships and Opportunities

Note: this is a Plinky post answering the question: What have you lost that you want back?

Getting Crowded Around Here

Everybody is going to say their sanity. I say sit back and enjoy the ride. Sanity is overrated.

So, here’s the thing, I’m a clutterbug. I know I am. I’m losing (And finding) stuff all the time. While there are a few physical things that I wish I hadn’t lost (my high school ring, my GPS receiver, the wallet I replaced three years ago, to name a few) the things that I really wish I had back fall into two categories: friendships and opportunities.

Over the years, I can count the number of close friends I’ve had on the fingers of two hands. The close friendships I have now can be counted on less than half a hand. I have a tendency to not put the work into keeping friendships alive and vital, and so they whither and die.

I miss my friends, but am too shy to revive the friendships.

I don’t know how many opportunities that I’ve lost over the years, I’m not sure I want to know. I know I’ve lost years to the depression, and it’s taking everything I have to make sure I don’t lose any more. At least the important ones.

Tags: , , ,

