Learning to Live

Last night, I had one of those nights where I saw the sunrise.

Which meant I spent yesterday sleeping.

Which now means, it’s 1:50 am, and I’m wide awake.

The dogs hate it when I do this.  Or maybe not.  Right now, they’re curled up in the center of my bed, in the spot where I like to put my legs, and so don’t let them sleep.  Lulu’s snoring loudly, so, obviously, she, at least, isn’t too concerned about my strange sleep habits.

Montaigne (I promise I’ll cut down on the Montaigne references.  I’m just really enjoying his book.)  Says that he who has learned not to be afraid of death has learned how not to be a slave.  I’d like to add that this is true only if you are not afraid of living, too.

I have Facebook friends who remark on the passage of the week, saying stuff like “Happy Wednesday!” for instance or, “Almost Friday!” Part of me is glad for these updates–if nothing else, it helps me keep track of the days of the week.  But on the other hand, they do mark the passage of time–time that I’m not taking advantage of.

For someone who was mourning lost opportunities a few days ago, I’m sure not taking advantage of the ones I have right now.

Tags: , , ,

