Hypochondria and other adventures

The problem with knowing that you are a hypochondriac is that it’s often difficult to know where there’s an actual medical emergency, or if your worst case scenario drive is kicking in.

This morning, for instance.  I ran down to my car to get the crock pot that has been sitting in the trunk since Easter (the trunk of my car is a little like a black hole.  Once something goes in, there’s a good chance it’ll never come out again).  The dogs were acting like they needed to come out too, so I brought them along to attend to their own needs.

Whatever happened to Lulu happened while I had my back to her, so I don’t know what it was.  All I know is that I turned around, and she wasn’t using one of her front paws.  I tried to examine it to see if there was a piece of glass or a splinter of a bee sting in it, but she whimpering and crying and wouldn’t let me look at it.

After picking her up the first time, she didn’t want to walk (not that I can blame her, poor girl,) so I ended up carrying both her and the crock pot upstairs.  Upon reaching the safety of our house, she relaxed a bit, but was still not using her paw, and trying to follow me around while I got ready for class, with a “mommy make it better” look on her face.

After watching her for a bit, I decided that I needed someone a little less hysterical than myself, so I called both Mom and Sis to ask for advice–I didn’t want to call a veterinarian because I knew they’d say to bring her in.  Sis said take her to the vet just to be sure, but maybe wait until after class.  Mom reminded me of my limited funds, and counseled waiting for a few days.   While I was on the phone, Lulu started putting more weight on her foot, and moving around a little better–even if she was still whimpering and limping.

So, off to class, then back home again.   And guess who greeted me at the front door happy and bouncy and ready to play?

that's my girl.

Her paw looks fine, it’s not swollen at all, and she’s letting me handle it.

So, I have no idea what happened, except that I had my own little mini freak-out.   All in all, Lulu handled the whole situation better than I did.

And Max just sat back and laughed at the both of us.

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Hypochondria and other adventures”

  1. Sarah says :

    Daisy always gets phantom paw. My vet said it’s either the cement scraping her paw wrong or just like a human stepping funny and mildly hurting an ankle.

