Whatever you do, don’t lose the receipt.

The bus stopped for me this morning, which automatically made today a better day than yesterday.  The amount of people on campus, and more specifically, in the book store lessened this to a certain extent.

I made an effort to avoid having to buy books from the bookstore this semester.  However, after comparing bookstore prices to several different online booksellers, I discovered that I wouldn’t be saving any money by buying online, so I figure I might as well face the hassle of the crowds and lines to avoid the hassle of shipping and waiting.

I checked online, and made a list of the books that I thought I needed.  A few hours later, I was sitting in my English class, and discovered that the books I bought for that class were, in fact, not the books that I needed.  Which meant, another trip to the bookstore.

So for some reason, the UVU bookstore is the only place left in the universe that can’t look up a purchase with the credit card that was used– and they wouldn’t accept my return without a receipt.  And, guess who, in the few short hours between buying the books and trying to return them, lost her receipt.

Obviously, you’ve been following my blog, and fully understand the mess that is me.

After tearing my backpack apart in a futile attempt to locate a small piece of paper, I gave up and just bought the correct book, frustrated that by the time the end of the semester rolled around, I’d be selling back a book that was still shrink-wrapped.   On my way to find my last class of the day, I passed the slatted bench where I put the original books in my backpack, and noticed–wait for it–a small piece of paper that had fallen under the bench.  I picked it up and gasped loudly enough that the girl sitting on the bench correctly identified what it was.  By some miracle of poor janitorial services, I was able to recover my receipt that had been on the floor in one of the busiest hallways on campus.

So, drama over the books settled, I headed off to my last class.  I got there early enough that I had to wait.  And wait.  And wait.  It turns out that there was a scheduling mix-up, and the instructor who we all thought was going to be teaching didn’t know she was supposed to be teaching.  But I didn’t find this out until hearing a lecture on Nikola Tesla from some random student, and successfully staving off a migraine by sheer force of will.  And Advil.

I don’t want my random janitorial and scheduling issues to dissuade anyone from UVU.  The start of a new semester is always hectic, and, as annoying as my two little mini-adventures today were, I’m feeling super lucky and blessed to have found the receipt, and as for my art class…well, it’s frustrating, but I’m going to chalk it up as one less thing I have to think about this weekend.

In other news…

Mom had a doctor’s appointment today, to check on her after her surgery, and to get round two scheduled.  A month after the fact, her surgeon wasn’t shy about telling her that as far as he could tell, the repairs he had done on her leg had never been done before.  By anyone, anywhere.  She’ll be going back on February 4th for her sixth and hopefully final hip replacement.  Again, it’s not really the surgery that is worrisome, it’s the recovery.  But, the hospital was very impressive the last time around, and I know she’ll be in good hands.

Tags: , , , ,

